Link back to Home.
Home  |   Air  |   Water  |   Land  |   Permits  |   Online Services   |   Contact Us  |  State Parks

Main content begins below.

Storm Water Permits

  NPDES Industrial
  NPDES Construction
  Phase I MS4
  Phase II MS4s

Related Links

  EPA Stormwater (exit TDEC)
  EPA Phase I (exit TDEC)
  EPA Phase II (exit TDEC)
  EPA Phase II Guide (exit TDEC)

In response to the 1987 Amendments to the Clean Water Act (CWA), the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) developed Phase I of the NPDES Storm Water Program in 1990. Under Phase I, EPA required NPDES permit coverage for storm water discharges from:

  • "Medium" and "large" municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s) located in incorporated places or counties with populations of 100,000 or more
  • Eleven categories of industrial activity, one of which is construction activity that disturbs five or more acres of land.

This page contains information related to MS4s.

EPA's Stormwater Website

EPA's Phase I Web Page

The following are already permitted Cities in Tennessee:

Knoxville: TNS068055
City of Knoxville’s Stormwater Web Page

Nashville: TNS068047
City of Nashville’s Stormwater Web Page

Memphis: TNS068276
City of Memphis’s Stormwater Web Page

Chattanooga: TNS068063
City of Chattanooga’s Stormwater Web Page

Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4)
Permit Number TNS077585